MOONPR1SM'S PLANET

a small image of a black planet with a ring around it.

moonpr1sm's blog



09/01/2023 - starting a blog/thoughts on instagram + web revival


I decided to add a blog to my page! Lately I'm often thinking about what kinds of things I could add to the site, and I've been really inspired by so many of the people I've met on Neocities and through clicking around status.cafe + generally surfing the web - which has been so FUN!

Like many of us in these web revival spaces have expressed, it's really nice to get away from how the "big" social media sites can feel. For me, the big draining factor is the sheer amount of ADS in your face. I feel like I can't keep up with my friend's stories on Instagram without being bombarded by ads every other second. Forget trying to see people I follow's posts in any sort of sensible order, too. Also, when IG changed the ability to search for "recent" hashtags to only being able to see "top recent" hashtags, it felt like such a gross and obvious attempt at making you pay to "boost" your post's visibility. I was really getting into art on IG over the past few years and I was able to connect with other artists like me with smaller followings through the use of the recent hashtag feature and now that it's gone, I'm so beyond annoyed! Not surprised, though. Capitalism continues to try and insert itself into every waking moment as usual.

Anyway, I'm still kinda using Instagram for now. I wish I could convince my friends on there to get into web revival lol! Maybe I'm a nostalgia chaser, but this whole making a personal site thing has made existing online fun and creative again. I like the Internet again, you know? I'm really glad I found Neocities. I wish I could remember what brought me here in the first place. It might've been something I saw on Tiktok, lol.

What else, what else...

I'm not totally sure what I'll blog about. Probably just general thoughts. I'm gonna try to keep it PG, and I most likely will try to avoid heavy topics. Maybe. I've been thinking a little about how personal I want to get here - I'm just not sure how I feel about that yet.

back